Doodles

Tuesday was the official start of my studio module. For this we had to bring in an object that we either feminine or masculine. I chose to bring in a playstation controller because it is seen as a masculine object because men mainly use it (however, this was my controller so I do break stereotype). We had to lay our items out in the room they corresponded with, the machine room was feminine and the print room was masculine. I started in the feminine room. With the objects that were laid out on the table, we had to draw them using different techniques.

IMG_1589IMG_1605

These were my doodle that were entered around this shell bag that I found on my table. I liked the use of the shells as surface decoration and they shape that that make. I mainly drew these with a pencil so that I could get smaller details into it.

IMG_1608 IMG_1607 IMG_1591

This was a dress that was laid on a table. Firstly I looked at it in quite small detail, i looked at the creases that it made. However, as I zoomed out, I could see the way that each layer laid on top of each other and made them each stick out in different directions. From that observation I drew each layer, one after another and without looking at the paper. The end result was this wobbly pattern that I really love.

IMG_1595 IMG_1611

These are doodles of a sequinned shoe that I found on a table. I didn’t really want to just draw the shoe so I decided to just look at the pattern on it instead. This was another drawing where I just just looked at the item and not the paper. I like that way that the dots overlap each other when I wasn’t look at what I was drawing.

IMG_1597 IMG_1598 IMG_1618 IMG_1617 IMG_1616 IMG_1615 IMG_1614 IMG_1613

One item that I got a lot of drawing out of was this screw. I started out with just a shaded drawing of it, then I noticed the bold lines of it. From there I experimented with close together lines and then made some with tape. I liked the way that it stuck out and looked more 3D with the tape. I used some ink to get some very bold lines in, I also washed some out do the lines were more broken up. I then decided to draw with thread to make some very wobbly lines that I then washed out with ink again. I really liked this effect because I though it then made a connection with the wobbly line that I did earlier with the tulle dress.

Leave a Reply

