Frills and Ruffles

Fashion

Today we started experimenting with whatever we wanted. When we walked into the classroom there was loads of mannequins lined up with different kinds of techniques in them. The idea of today was to choose styles that we would like to have a go at and get stuck in.

IMG_1626 IMG_1627 IMG_1628 IMG_1629 IMG_1630 IMG_1631 IMG_1632 IMG_1633 IMG_1634 IMG_1635 IMG_1636 IMG_1637 IMG_1638 IMG_1639 IMG_1640

The one that first caught my eye was the gathers in a section (Pic 6). I thought that it went very well with the drawings that I did last week with reference to the screw. I did a lot of gathers last year so I thought it wouldn’t be a problem. As I was asking Val about how to do it she said I should try doing it in a curved seam instead to make it harder. I thought that wouldn’t be a problem because I learnt how to do curved seams in my inductions last week. The final outcome of the piece didn’t look Β too bad for the first time, however I do think that the gathers are laking a bit on the ends where I didn’t pull the gathers enough.

IMG_1641IMG_1650

After that, I decided to have a go at create a tiered gathered skirt. To do this I have to cut out one long rectangle, then double the shorter length and cut out another rectangle, then double the length other that one and cut out another one. I wasn’t too sure with the measurement on this one for I just guessed and hoped that it fitted well. I didn’t get enough time to finish this one and in the end I ended up with just one gathered section.

IMG_1651 IMG_1642

I had to start putting these experiments on the mannequins to show that I am think about how they work on clothing and how they can be incorporated into my later designs. We had both the big and little mannequins and also the male mannequin I get an idea of different genders.

IMG_1648 IMG_1647 IMG_1646 IMG_1645 IMG_1644 IMG_1643

Textiles

After lunch, we then swapped and when into the print room to have a go at some textiles. We started by having a conversation about the object that we picked the last week and how we can research further into this and bring out a wider understanding.

The conversation I had started to bring in the theme of construction, from using the screw in putting something together. The main idea of construction is a very masculine areas, however when you think about fashion construction it is much more feminine. The screw that I had looked quite old and it was rusted in some areas, that them made me think of being used.This connected with the lesson from earlier because frayed cloth looks old and worn, much like the screw.

After that, we then went through magazines, looking for anything that related to our theme and that can be used in a moodboard. I started looking for anything that reminded me of a screw, but then I decided that I should broaden it and started to look at construction. I looked for pieces that had a lot of stitching and design put into it.

Leave a Reply

