Cutting out

Yesterday, I finally got around to cutting out my pattern pieces from the fabric.

This is my pile of pieces to be cut out of the gold fabric.

IMG_0031

And these are the pieces from the blue fabric.

IMG_0033

I did’t actually get a picture of the pieces on the gold fabric but I didn’t have very many of them to do so it wasn’t too bad. However, I did have the whole of the shirt to be cut out of the blue fabric so I did that first. As the skirt is very big, it didn’t actually all fit on the fold of the fabric, so I had to change the shape of it so it was slightly thinner. After that I cut the res of the pieces out. As this fabric is very thick, it really aches you arm when cutting it.

IMG_0034

After that, I had to start on the pieces for the ruffles. To make them more manageable, I cut them in shorter lengths. That way I won’t have long strips to sew at a time and there will be breaks in the ruffles.

IMG_0035

I decided to create a gradient in the ruffles, so that they increase in size the lower they are. I started with 6cm then 8cm then 12cm then 18cm.

IMG_0036

Leave a Reply

