Research Presentation

As part of our Developmental Research module, we had to do a presentation about the theme we have chosen to write about. I chose to write about Diversity in Fashion, I feel strongly about people not being judge for how they look and act and that they should equal.

Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.34.51Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.34.54Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.34.56When I started to look into diversity in fashion, I found plenty on disablity. I found this really interesting because there was so many different kinds of disablities that I could talk about. I didn’t just want to talk about disablity though, I thought I could bring in some of the gender ideas that I did in semester 1 for our diversity projection. Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.34.59

FTL Moda was one of the companied that I found information on straight away. They are different to the usual companies that show at fashion week. Instead, they show new talents in the fashion and modelling industry.Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.35.00

For their 2015 show, they decided to have a range of differnt models, these included disabled models. The show was done in collaboration with Italy’s Fondazione, an organisation that researches spinal cord injuries.Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.35.03

One of the models that became very popular out of show was Madeline Stuart. She was only 18 years old when she modelled for the FTL MODA 2015 show. She has now become the first professional model with down syndrome. She has also become the face of a cosmetics company Glossigirl, she has lent her name to EverMaya for a new handbag where 5% of the proceeds are donated to the National Down Syndrome Society, and even has very own range of leggings.Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.35.09

These are some pictures of her modelling career. The top left one was her first photoshoot that she did, the two next to it were her walk in the FTL MODA 2015 show. The one underneath is the Madeline EverMaya bag that she lent her name to, and the one next to that is her most recent photoshoot where it was wedding themed and she was dressed in beautiful dresses.Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.35.10

These are some of the quotes that I found about either the show or models that were in it. My favourite quote is bottom one. It talks about how if she still get lots of attention from her second walk down the runway then that meants that everyone is still talking about diversity and inclusion in the world, however if she doesn’t get as much then it means that she as already been accepted into the world.Screen Shot 2016-04-26 at 16.35.12

I looked a few comments on articles and photos of Maddie. I wanted to show what real people thought about her. Everything was very positive, which I think is really great.

On the day of presentation I was very nervous. I had practiced my presentation but I was very worried. I put everything on a usb stick, and came in the next day ready to do it. I also checked it on my sister’s windows laptop to checj it would. However, when I put it in the computer, it had corrupted and I couldn’t open it. This made me feel even worse because I didn’t have a working presentation to give. Gill gave me another chance and let me go home and fix it and come back into another group and do it. I grabbed my laptop and came back and did it. I did pass in the end but with some struggle and it really taught me that alwasy be prepared, even if you think that it will work perfectly.

Leave a Reply

