Portfolio Pages

Over the last few week, I have been working on my portfoilio pages for my childrenswear projects.

This is my first board. We had to do a shop report on the chosen store in our project. My store was Next. As I talked about on my other blog post (here), I went into Next and looked at the collections in there.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 19.45.18

After that, I went into competitor stores and compared their clothes to the ones in Next. I also wrote about this in my other post here. As well as high street stores, I looked at a higher end, designer store so that I could get a feel for what more money would be. I also looked at some of the trends in childrens clothing now so I know whats in trend.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 19.55.22

For my moodboard, I wanted to show a range of ideas that I have been thinking about. I put on a few trend boards so that it shows what trends I was interested in from the beginning. I put on a couple of artists and designers that I inspired me. I then put on some inspiration, the spaceman outfits, the NASA photos, and some next clothing that I liked the idea of.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 19.58.53

My development sheet is a collection of drawings and pieces that I did to help develop this project. We did a workshop in class where we had to bring in objects that related to our theme. As mine was about space I found it had to bring in objects that related to that, so I brought in as much as I could, but I also looked at objects by other people doing the same project. Later on, I did some marbelling because it reminds me of a galaxy. After the marbelling, I scanned it into the computer and adjusted the colour levels so that they were bright colours.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 20.05.48.png

To help with designing childrens clothing. Becky brough in some clothing where we could look at the different design aspects of them. This really helped me because I could fully analyse the clothing and know what it is that manufactures put in them. The badges was one of the ideas that really stuck with me, I just didn’t want to do it in the common way they are usually done.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 20.14.06

This is my lineup so far. I kept everything quite simple because childrens clothing is basic, but I tried to add new and improved aspects that I haven’t seen before. My dungarees, jeans and hoodie were all designed with a astronaut suit in mind. I really like this idea and I like the reinforced padding that I put on the knees, this is for a space man aesthetic but also as a safety measure for when a child is playing because it will protect their knees.

Screen Shot 2016-04-27 at 20.21.08.png

 

Leave a Reply

