PDP Presentation

For the end of my third year, I have to do a presentation on my final collection. The presention is about the FMP, the inspiration and the final outcomes. But I also have to discuss designers, social media, and future plans.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.15.31

This is the front page, introducing myself and my collection

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.15.48

This is the page about my collection. The collection vintage inspired, but has been moderized to be something that any girl now could wear. I wanted it to have a feel of homeliness and handmade with the quilting and topstitched patterns. The idea was that it was going to be a white collection because I didn’t want to dip into the textiles side at all. However, my ideas did change slightly and I dyed some of my trims because I wanted the yellow involved more that stitching and zips. The colour yellow came from my favourite page in a magazine that was in the memory box.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.29.14

This is the page about the inspiration. I tried to include most of the objects, or the ones that are mostly used in my collection.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.31.06

This is my first dress. I included the inspiration from my sketchbook, the mannequin design I started with, and the final technical drawing. I also labeled up the drawing so that the viewers could see the didn’t elements in my design.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.37.25

I included some photos of the processes and the toile to show the making of my dress and what I had to do. Some of these are the photos from my instagram too.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.44.10

I included a page on the issues that I had with this dress because there were quite a few. The bodice was a massive issue. As the pattern was from a 1950s pattern book, when I followed it exacly it came out very small and no one could get in it. So after a made a toile I had to adapt it so someone would be able to wear. There was an issue with the skirt later on because I ran out of fringing so I had to shorten it and didn’t have time to buy more and dye it. I then had to shorten it even more when my pleated section shrunk and and I had to take up the hem to make it fit.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.54.09

I included photos of the final outcome, aswell as the actual dress in the presentation. And the professional David Lam photo that was done in the photoshoot.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.56.19

I did the same with my second outfit. I included some scans from my sketchbook, my mannequin design and my technical drawing. I also labeled up this one so you could tell what details were put into this dress too.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 18.59.43

These are the progress photos of my second dress.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.01.26

I had a few issues with this dress, much like the one before. The main issue was the star cutout that I had at the back. It was originally a cutout, but then I thought it might be easier to make it a yellow panel. But when it came to doing that I found it really hard to sew in and got fed up with it. In the end I ended up going back to the cut out idea and just sewing in some facing into the back of it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.05.01

This is the final outcome of my second dress.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.08.30

I included my other 2 designs so they what else I had to some in my collection. I had nealy finished design 3 at this time, but it was on a mannequin in the sewing room so I couldn’t take it with me. My design 4 had actually changed since then, I designed a 5th dress, but I actually prefered it to my original so I swapped it out.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.12.56

I looked at 2 designers for this collection. It was suggested to look at Delpozo for construction ideas. I thought they would help me thing outfit the box a little bit and bring some interesting construction ideas into it. I also looked at moschino because they had some dresses that were inspired by objects, much like my entire collection.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.17.59

I had to talk out any social networking that have done. I had recently opened up a fashion instagram account so I included some photos of that and my handle @shazziiee_fashion. I also included my blog, which I have been keeping up to date over the last 3 years. I know that the younger years have to keep one so I thought if I included it then they could look at it for inspiration. My Blog

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.33.49.png

I had to look at exhibitions and places that I could independently showcase my skills. That weekend had been the Secret Vintage Fair and I went to have a look. I thought that if I went into my little fashion collection then I thought this would be an ideal place because it is vintage based, the inspiration of fashion style, and it’s local, so I would be easy for me to get to.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 19.40.19

The final thing I had to include was future plan. My dream has always been to have my own little shop and sell my own creations. I did start this just before my started my degree. I used to make my own jewellery and hair clips, and I opened up my own etsy store to sell them. I have had it open this whole time, but I have been working more on my degree than my shop. I have had experience with etsy so if I wanted to start a bigger store then I would know what to do.

 

Leave a Reply

